City Council / City Clerk

City Clerk - James Ryan

 

FOR CITY COUNCIL INQUIRIES PLEASE CALL THE OFFICE OF THE CITY CLERK AT 570-208-4117

Police Civil Service Test Results

City Council is the Legislative Branch of City Government. It is responsible for the laws of the City, approving and/or transacting city business as required by the City Charter and Administrative Code and by general laws of the Commonwealth and Federal Government. Council may act by the adoption of resolution, ordinance or motion during public meetings. All meetings shall be public, in accordance with the Council’s own Rules and Order of Business. ALL CITY COUNCIL WORK SESSIONS AND REGULAR SESSIONS ARE AS FOLLOWS FOR THE YEAR 2016 AT 6:00 P.M., UNLESS NOTED OTHERWISE, IN CITY COUNCIL CHAMBERS, FOURTH FLOOR, CITY HALL.

Speaker Registration Form (MS Word) – CLICK

Speaker Registration Form (PDF) – CLICK

Email Completed forms to srf@wilkes-barre.pa.us

City Clerk

The Municipal Clerk is the oldest of public servants in local government along with the tax collector. The profession traces back before Biblical times.

The City Clerk serves as the Chief Administrative Officer for the Legislative Branch of City Government, (City Council) as well as Clerk to all boards and committees of the Council. Other functions include giving notice of Council meetings to its members and the public, keeping the journal of its proceedings, document and archive the legislative actions of City Council and perform such other duties and functions as assigned. The City Clerk is directly accountable to Council and coordinates activities with other City departments and outside agencies.

Further, the City Clerk is authorized to substitute dates of meetings where they conflict with other scheduled events. Further, the City Clerk is instructed to advertise these meetings.

Wilkes-Barre City Code of Ordinances/City Charter/Administrative Code-CLICK

Wilkes-Barre Cemetery Records File

Wilkes-Barre Cemetery Burial & Transit Permits (Aug 31, 1889 – Dec 31, 1907)

Wilkes-Barre City Cemetery Map

 

 

 

2016 -2017 City Council Meeting Schedule

Council Members

Bill Barrett

District D PH: 570-826-9131

wbarrett@wilkes-barre.pa.us

Mike Merritt

District E

PH: 570-825-1445

Mike Belusko

District A

570-820-7060

mbelusko@wilkes-barre.pa.us

Tony Brooks

Vice-Chairperson

District B

570-793-3631

tbrooks@wilkes-barre.pa.us

Beth A. Gilbert

Chairperson

District C

570-606-9575

bgilbert@wilkes-barre.pa.us

Work Session

Tuesday, August 9, 2016

Wednesday, August 31, 2016

Tuesday, September 13, 2016

Tuesday, October 4, 2016

Tuesday, October 18, 2016

Tuesday, November 1, 2016

Tuesday, November 15, 2016

Tuesday, December 6, 2016

Tuesday, December 20, 2016

 

Tuesday, January 10, 2017

Tuesday, January 24, 2017

*SPECIAL MEETING*

Tuesday, February 7, 2017

Tuesday, February 21, 2017

Tuesday, March 7, 2017

Tuesday, March 21, 2017

SPECIAL MEETING*

Tuesday, April 4, 2017

Tuesday, April 18, 2017

Tuesday, May 9, 2017

Tuesday, May 23, 2017

*Combined Session (W.S. @ 5:30)

Tuesday, July 11, 2017

Tuesday, August 8, 2017

Tuesday, September 12, 2017

Tuesday, October 3, 2017

Tuesday, October 17, 2017

Monday, November 6, 2017

Combined Session (W.S. at 6:00 p.m.)

Tuesday, December 5, 2017

Tuesday, December 19, 2017

Regular Session

Tuesday, August 11, 2016

Special Meeting

Thursday, September 15, 2016

*Combined Session

Thursday, October 20, 2016

*Combined Session

Thursday, November 17, 2016

Thursday, December 8, 2016

Thursday, December 22, 2016

Tuesday, January 3, 2017

Thursday, January 12, 2017

Thursday, January 26, 2017

Thursday February 2, 2017

Thursday, February 9, 2017

Thursday, February 23, 2017

Thursday, March 9, 2017

Thursday, March 23, 2017

Thursday, March 30, 2017

Thursday, April 6, 2017

Thursday, April 20, 2017

Thursday, May 11, 2017

Thursday, May 25, 2017

Monday ,June 19, 2017

Thursday, July 13, 2017

Thursday, August 10, 2017

Thursday, September 14, 2017

Thursday, October 5, 2017

Thursday, October 19, 2017

Thursday, November 9, 2017

Tuesday, November 21, 2017

Thursday, December 7, 2017

Thursday, December 21, 2017